Early on in the week, the fellow asked me if I’d be available to follow him to the car mechanic on Friday and bring him back to town. Not knowing much about cars, I didn’t even bother to ask what was wrong with his vehicle, but just cleared my schedule and said “sure.”

Then on the morning of, I was getting ready and got a call telling me the mechanic he needed to go to was right next to the mall, and “would-I-mind-riding-with-him-and-walking-around-for-awhile” instead. I fought tooth and nail just to take my own vehicle; this is this guy whose one hour eye appointment I waited 5 hours for!

Still.. he won, and as I hopped in the car, I noticed we weren’t heading in the direction of I-64. Instead, we landed at Byrd Park for a surprise picnic! On the menu: Curried Egg Salad with cucumbers on pita, Pistachio Lime Poppyseed Fruit Salad, and my favorite Kettle brand chips.

The cucumbers lent the egg salad a perfect crunch, and it was definitely a change from the standard without being too exotic to pair with most things/eat all the darn time (which I feel may happen). The fruit salad was TO DIE FOR (and healthy!!)– he even thought far enough ahead to bum some Splenda packets from a coffee shop to replace the sugar.

I made him give me a copy of the recipes just to share with you guys. Hope you love both as much as I did.

Curried Egg Salad Sandwiches (adapted from here)

Ingredients:
•12 hard-boiled eggs, peeled, halved
•1/4 cup raisins
•1 large green onion, finely chopped
•2 tablespoons minced fresh cilantro
•1/2 cup plus additional mayonnaise (he used miracle whip and it was awesome)
•2 3/4 teaspoons curry powder
•1 small cucumber, peeled, cut lengthwise in half, seeded
•pita pockets

Directions: Scoop egg yolks into large bowl; mash well with fork. Finely chop egg whites; add to yolks. Mix in raisins, green onion, and cilantro. Mix 1/2 cup mayonnaise and curry powder in small bowl; stir into egg mixture. If salad is dry, mix in more mayo by the tablespoon. Season with salt and pepper. Try to make this at least 3 hours ahead (cover and chill it, of course) so that the flavors have some time to set in.

*Magical* Fruit Salad with Poppyseed Dressing (adapted from here)

Ingredients:
•1 cup halved green seedless grapes
•1 cup quartered strawberries
•1/2 cup blueberries
•2 tablespoons no-calorie sweetener
•1/4 cup fresh lime juice (2-3 tablespoons = 1 lime)
•1 teaspoon poppy seeds
•1/4 cup unsalted pistachios, toasted

Directions: Toss grapes, strawberries and blueberries with sweetener in a medium bowl. Stir in lime juice and poppy seeds. Let sit at room temperature for at least half an hour. Garnish with pistachios and serve. I’m gonna go ahead and suggest a double batch of this stuff. It’s guiltless and you’ll want it all.

Is it safe to say my day ended up slightly better than sitting at a mechanic’s? What are some of your favorite picnic recipes?

